Improvement Program is an opportunity to prevent your traffic
ticket from appearing as a conviction on your driving record.
When you participate in the Driver Improvement Program, you are
granted court supervision without going to court (unless you
are not yet 18, in which case you must appear in court with a
parent or guardian to obtain court supervision).
Court supervision is an unsupervised “probation” that results in
your ticket showing as supervision instead of a conviction on
your driving record. Your period of supervision lasts six months
from the date the Circuit Clerk’s Office receives your “PLEA OF
GUILTY” and it is your responsibility to pay the traffic fine
and Driver Improvement Program fee in full and remain without
additional traffic violations during this period.
Court supervision requires you to attend a one-time, four-hour
class on defensive driving developed by the National Corrective
Training Institute and offered by Illinois Valley Community
College (IVCC). You must complete this class within 90 days of
the date the traffic ticket was issued.
Payment must be made and the “Registration Form for Driver
Improvement Program” must be filled out on both sides and
returned to the Bureau County Circuit Clerk’s Traffic Department
along with the blue copy of the ticket signed on the bottom
half. (See Registration Form for Driver Improvement program
If you live in Bureau County, you must take the
class at the Bureau County Farm Bureau, 535 Elm Place (Route
34), in Princeton, IL or at IVCC in Oglesby, IL.
If taking the class at the
Bureau County Farm Bureau, you
must pay your traffic fine plus $35.00 to the Bureau County
Circuit Clerk. If you find you cannot attend the class you
registered for at the Bureau County Farm Bureau, contact the
Traffic Department at the Bureau County Circuit Clerk’s Office
at (815) 872-2001, Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., to
reschedule your class. There is a $10.00 charge to reschedule a
If taking the class at Illinois Valley Community College,
you must pay your traffic fine plus $10.00 to the Bureau County
Circuit Clerk. YOU are then responsible to sign up for
the class with IVCC by calling (815) 434-8271 and to pay IVCC’s
Check the Eligibility Guidelines below and the registration
information carefully before you complete the application. You
must apply for the program through the Circuit Clerk’s Office at
the same time you pay your ticket’s fine. Fees paid to
participate in the Driver Improvement Program are
The Driver Improvement Program will notify the Court when you
have completed the class. If you complete the program within the
90 days of the date the ticket was issued and do not receive any
additional tickets during your supervision period, your ticket
will show as supervision and not as a conviction on your driving
If you live outside of Bureau County, you may take
the class online or in another county.
If you live outside Bureau County you may take the class online
at www.gototrafficschool.com, the only online class accepted by
the Bureau County Court.
BEFORE TAKING THE CLASS you must pay the traffic fine plus
$10.00 to the Bureau County Circuit Clerk, register for the
class and pay an additional fee online for the class itself.
If taking the class in another county, pay your traffic fine
plus $10.00 to the Bureau County Circuit Clerk, locate a class
and pay its registration fee.
After completing the class, you must sign the original
Certificate you receive and send it to the Bureau County Circuit
Clerk’s Traffic Department within 90 days of the date the
traffic ticket was issued OR your supervision may be revoked and
your guilty plea will result in a conviction on your driving
record to the Secretary of State.
In summary, when you receive a traffic ticket, you have three
- PLEAD GUILTY and pay the fine, by mail or in person, without
going to court. A conviction will be reported to the Secretary
- PLEAD NOT GUILTY and request a Trial (requiring at least one
- PLEAD GUILTY, BUT WITH SUPERVISION. ATTEND THE DRIVER
IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM. Pay the traffic fine and Driver Improvement
Program fee, attend a one-time class on defensive driving and
receive no additional tickets during your supervision period.
(No court appearance is required.)
Read these Eligibility Guidelines carefully to see if you
qualify for court supervision.
- You may participate in the Driver Improvement Program to receive
mail-in court supervision for only ONE ticket a year. The year
is determined from ticket date to ticket date.)
- Anyone who has already received court supervision (either by
order of a judge or by attending a Traffic School Program) for
another traffic ticket that was issued within 12 months of this
ticket is not eligible.
- If your ticket is marked “MUST APPEAR IN COURT”, you MUST FIRST
appear in court, in person, on the date shown.
YOU ARE NOT ELIGIBLE FOR COURT SUPERVISION:
- If you are a holder of a Commercial Drivers License (CDL).
- If you are charged with an offense while operating a commercial
motor vehicle.If the “URBAN DISTRICT” box on your ticket is checked or if
“URBAN DISTRICT” is written on your ticket.
- If your ticket is for one of the following violations:
- Speeding – School Zone 625 ILCS 5/11-605(a)
- Passing a Stopped School Bus 625 ILCS 5/11-141(a)
- Speeding – Construction Zone 625 ILCS 5/11-605(b)
- Illegal Transportation of Alcohol 625 ILCS 5/11-502(a) or (b)
If you apply for the program and are found to be ineligible, a
conviction will be reported to the Secretary of State. Both your
fine and the school fee are not refundable.